About the NMBM Council


‘Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality is a global city that is governed by an inclusive and innovative administration, focused on sustainable service delivery, socio-economic development, infrastructure development, local and regional integration through comprehensive initiatives.’



‘To be a globally competitive and preferred Metropole that works collectively with the people to improve lives, boost the economy, advocating zero corruption, and to have a transformed administration aimed at enhancing service delivery.’ 


Collectively we can achieve more



The City has 120 Councillors, comprising 60 Ward Councillors and 60 Proportional Representative (PR) Councillors, as elected by the residents of the Metro in the August 2016 Local Government elections.



The Executive Mayor governs together with the Speaker, who is the Chairperson of the Metropolitan Council, the Deputy Executive Mayor and a team of Chairpersons of Portfolio Committees within an Executive Mayoral Committee system.

Our Executive Mayoral system is combined with a vibrant Ward Participatory System to ensure community participation at grassroots level.

Council is headed by the Speaker. The role of a council in local government is that of lawmaker and, as such, it focuses on legislation, participation and oversight. In addition, municipal councils facilitate political discussions and debate in order to assist in planning and decision-making. The Council of the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality is headed by the Speaker and comprises 120 Councillors, elected through a mixed-member proportional representative system. Altogether 60 of those Councillors were elected through a voting process in the 60 wards that make up Nelson Mandela Bay. The remaining 60 Councillors were selected from party lists, on the basis that the total number of party representatives must be proportional to the number of votes received. 


 To view contact details: Hover over the relevant picture and click.

MR. Bennet Mzwenqaba Bhanga (DA) Executive Mayor
View Details
MR. Jonathan Lawack (DA) Speaker
View Details
MR. Morne Gerhard Steyn (DA) Chief Whip
View Details
MR. Masixole Mac-Arther Zinto (DA) Human Settlements
View Details
MR. Lance Patrick Grootboom (ACDP) Public Health
View Details
MR. Rano Kayser (DA) Roads and Transport
View Details
MR. John Best (DA) Safety and Security
View Details
MS. Helga Christelle van Staaden (DA) Sport, Recreation, Arts & Culture
View Details
MR. Malcolm John Figg (DA) Budget and Treasury
View Details
MRS. Annette Lovemore (DA) Corporate Services and Human Resources
View Details
MRS. Siyasanga Sijadu (COPE) Economic Development Tourism and Agriculture
View Details
MR. Loxolo Namette (UDM) Deputy Executive Mayor
View Details
MR. Thsonono Christopher Solomon Buyeye (AIC) Infrastructure and Engineering
View Details


Using a Touch Screen?
Click below for instructions to fix Touch/Swipe issues experienced in Microsoft Edge.

Show me the fix! No thanks
This might take a while depending on your connectivity.
Please be patient while we search the entire site & all its modules for you...